Language Skills

Research Grants 2012

The Language Skills Factor is one of the six factors for which points are awarded by Canadian Immigration Officers in determining whether a Skilled Worker / Professional applicant will be accepted or refused.
Up to 28 points are awarded under the Language Skills Factor based upon the applicant's ability to speak Canada's two official languages. Up to 24 points are awarded for comptenency in a first language (English or French), and 4 are awarded for a second language (English or French). The applicant may indivate either the English or French language as the first or second language for the purpose of being assessed under the Language Skills Factor.

All Skilled Worker (Professional) applicants must include Test d’Evaluation de Fran├žais (TEF) or International English Language Testing System (IELTS) results with their application so that points for the language section may be awarded. No other method of indicating linguistic abilities will be accepted.

Through their chosen exam, applicants must prove that they meet or exceed a minimum threshold in all four language abilities (listening, reading, speaking, writing). This threshold is set at Canadian Language benchmark (CLB) 7, which is defined as "adequate intermediate proficiency". Applicants who score below the CLB threshold are not eligible to apply to the Federal Skilled Worker program at this time. 

Credits for Language Skills are awarded on the following basis: 

ProficiencyPoints (24 + 4 max)
First Official Language
IELTS 6.0/6.0/6.0/6.0
4 pts
Speaking/Listening/Reading/WritingHigh intermediate
IELTS 6.5/7.5/6.5/6.5
5 pts/ability
IELTS 7.0/8.0/7.0/7.0
6 pts/ability
 Spouse/partner's official language (CLB4)
IELTS 4.0/4.5/3.5/4.0
 5 pts/ability
Maximum24 points
Second Official Language
Speaking/Listening/Reading/WritingCLB/NCLC 5 in all abilities
IELTS 5.0/5.0/4.0/5.0
4 points
Maximum4 points
Follow us on Facebook
Powered by: Internetsmash